Ferguson

For the most part, I’ve been keeping my opinions of the events in Ferguson to myself. I wasn’t on the jury, I was not present when Michael Brown was killed, and I’m not here to cast judgement on something I have no proof of. However, in the days following the shooting, something has been weighing on my mind.

I’m a criminal justice student. If grad school doesn’t work out, I’ll probably go through the police academy in my town until it is time to try again. I have family members who are cops, I have friends who are cops. I was raised that they are here to help you and to not be afraid of them. I’m also a white female.

What has been bothering me is images such as this:

Anadolu Agency / Getty Images

Anadolu Agency / Getty Images

Are there cops that abuse their power? Sure. Don’t let one bad apple (whether or not you believe Wilson was guilty) ruin your perception of all police officers. Most of them would take a bullet for a citizen even on their worst day.

Similarly, don’t let the violent protesters across the nation overshadow the peaceful protesters. Don’t let the violent few ruin your image of those who are exercising their right to protest.

The ultimate weakness of violence is that it is a descending spiral,
begetting the very thing it seeks to destroy.
Instead of diminishing evil, it multiplies it.
Through violence you may murder the liar,
but you cannot murder the lie, nor establish the truth.
Through violence you may murder the hater,
but you do not murder hate.
In fact, violence merely increases hate.
So it goes.
Returning violence forFer violence multiplies violence,
adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars.
Darkness cannot drive out darkness:
only light can do that.
Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.

– Martin Luther King Jr.

That’s all I have to say about the situation.

Everyone have a great Thanksgiving and stay safe no matter where you are!

 

3 thoughts on “Ferguson

  1. Beautifully said. I was careful about what I said on the issue, too, but it’s much in line with what you’ve said. That image speaks volumes. I wonder how officers felt who were there to serve and protect. I know that’s the majority of them.

  2. Pingback: simpleNewz - InkPaperPen RSS Feed for 2014-12-07

Leave a Reply

