Seven years

On this date in 2006, one of my best friends was killed in a car accident. I had just turned 13, she was about to turn 12. After seven years, I still think about her almost everyday and I still miss her. I’m not gonna write a long post today, I’m going to post a poem that I wrote right after her death. From the mind of the 13 year old version of me:

There once was a little angel with hair of gold,

But one day she was taken from this world so dark and very cold.

But she is with her Father now and he has set her free;

And one day by his grace and love,

She will again be with me.

It was very tragic that we lost her that day,

But it is also a constant reminder that we mustn’t stray away from God.

This same little angel with eyes of crystal blue often reminded us “What Would Jesus Do?” 

So as we look upon her with hearts filled with grief, It reminds us that life is very brief. 

To my friend Allison Dawn Little.
September 9, 1994 to August 16, 2006

 

I’m not a religious person, but I am spiritual. The 13 year old version of myself had a lot more faith than the 20 year old version. Still, I have to believe I’ll see her again one day.

2 thoughts on “Seven years

Leave a Reply

