Westboro Baptist Church coming to Alabama

I’ve always said that if they ever came anywhere near my home to protest, I would like to do something cool like this to stop them.

The Westboro Baptist Church has announced plans to picket at the University of Alabama on May 18 to “remind them of the wrath of God that visited them two years ago, wherein they did not have finals, and their graduation exercises were cancelled.” In 2011, a massive tornado ripped through Alabama, killing 253 people. The heaviest destruction was in Tuscaloosa, where 47 people were killed, including 6 UA students.

Tuscaloosa Mayor Walt Maddox has made a statement: “They have a right to free speech, and as long as they abide by the laws of this city and this state, that is their right to protest as they choose,” Maddox said. “Personally, I have a different take. The God I saw after April 27 was a God of love, compassion and generosity.”

My thoughts: Let’s organize. Dead serious. There’s a law in Alabama saying that protesters have to be 1000 feet away from funerals, but that’s not good enough for me. Let’s dress up like zombies or form a crimson wall or  something. (I’m aware that most of my readers don’t even live in Alabama though.) I live like 2 hours from Tuscaloosa. I’m game for shutting down Westboro.

Sign this petition!

Personally, I would like to see this happen. 492197058c82e68a734a341be44b6dda

These are their famous signs. This is so beyond wrong.

westboro1-3d0baab9ccc674c5428c2cf5342da0ffcee7da0e-s6-c10320687_550156254997822_485779308_n

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Westboro Baptist Church coming to Alabama

  1. There is a congregation in my town similar to these idiots…a Soldier died over in Afghanistan and they did everything they could to hurt his family and dishonor his memory. It was so sick to watch I almost couldn’t stop myself from getting involved but luckily my family restrained me.

    As long as people do nothing…these idiots will continue doing this and it’s beyond wrong. They are such Hypocrites, Honestly who in the hell “Prays for more dead soldiers” while claiming to be Christians or whatever they claim to be… It’s pathetic.

    I am sorry they are coming to where you live =/

    They will get what’s coming to them, No doubt about it.

    • That’s so sad. I’m sorry that they came to your town as well, and it’s so sad about that soldier’s family.

      I agree. I wish that someone would pass a law prohibiting them from entering, but I guess it is their constitutional right (as much as I disagree with it). I think it would be cool to protest their protest. Lol.

      They’re gonna get what’s coming to them for sure, I hope it’s just soon.

  2. A couple of years ago that cult (I can’t call them a church) was going to picket at the funeral of a soldier who had graduated from Texas A&M University. Aggies got together and create a huge chair circle around the funeral church to keep the protesters away. It was so successful that many other groups and cities have done the same whenever they find out that the cult protesters are going to show up.

    Here’s the story: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/07/06/texas-am-students_n_1653002.html

Leave a Reply

