If we have to rank women…

It’s that time of year again. I don’t mean the holiday season, either. 2012 is coming to a close, which means we get to find out “the most beautiful people” of the year.

I don’t agree with ranking women, but since society will do as it pleases, I’m happy with the choices. This is according to People.

Number 1: BEYONCÉ

On top of being an African American women, Beyoncé recently had her first child. She says “I feel more beautiful than I’ve ever felt because I’ve given birth.” Beyoncé has quite a list of accomplishments, including  16 Grammys.

27fac49ca1a5264839a1c6ae70ad0ff772a2ff21

 

Number 2: SOFIA VERGARA

The forty year old actress is from Colombia. She says that she is “not ashamed” of the way she looks because “it has opened doors.”

Sofia-Vergara-Emmys-2012

 

Number 3: CHARLIZE THERON

Charlize is a 36 year old model and actress from South Africa. She was sick as a child, and was put on many antibiotics, which rotted her teeth. She jokes about how “for the first eight years of my life, I didn’t have front teeth.” It didn’t hold her back, however.

17th Annual Critics Choice Movie Awards - Arrivals

 

Number 4: LILY COLLINS

Lily didn’t always appreciate her unique features. She says that  “It used to bother me – having bigger, fuller brows.” Now she embraces it. The young actress says that “the quirky things that make you different are what make you beautiful.”

Lily-Collins-1120231

 

Number 5: MADELEINE STOWE

The 53 year old actress left Hollywood years ago to raise her family, but came back to play on the ABC hit Revenge. About getting older, she says “My forehead moves! Some things, you have to let go.”

Madeleine+Stowe+69th+Annual+Golden+Globe+Awards+8nGs9WbvQjZl

 

Number 6: CHRISTINA HENDRICKS

When Christina first started modeling in Italy, she gained 15 pounds. She said she never even tried to lost it, because she “loved it.” She says she gained her body confidence from her mother, who was a great role model. Christina recalls that “I never heard her once say, ‘I feel fat.'”

CHRISTINA HENDRICKS at Emmy Awards Governors Ball

 

Number 7: MICHELLE WILLIAMS

She won an Oscar nod for her performance in My Week with Marilyn, which was a role that required a huge physical transformation for her. “The expectation to be beautiful always makes me feel ugly because I feel like I can’t live up to it,” she said after the film was completed.

michelle-williams-2012-gq

 

Number 8: PAULA PATTON

After the birth of her son in 2012, Paula says she wears less makeup and is less fussy because “I have less time to be down about myself!” She is proud of her body, saying she “realized a long time ago I’m not going to be a size 0.”

Paula+Patton+Golden+Globe+Awards+2012-570x426

 

Number 9: MIRANDA LAMBERT

I personally love Miranda Lambert, simply because she does not have a perfect body. She even has lyrics that say “you’ll keep getting skinnier; I’m just like you, only prettier.” She is proud of her body and does feel pressured into being skinnier, saying “It’s OK to have a little bit of curve. I’m happy with my body.”

miranda-lambert-2012-academy-of-country-music-awards-acm-randi-rahm-dress

 

Number 10: KATE MIDDLETON

She does her own makeup and recycles her own clothes, even though she’s married to Prince William. According to her friends, she is very down to earth and friendly. And they’re having a baby! I don’t usually get excited about babies, as I’m not fond of them, but this is going to be one cute baby.

Duchess-Kate-Middleton-At-Olympic-Gala-2012

 

Like I said, I’m not supporting women being ranked like they’re in a dog show. But, since it will happen anyway, I don’t think these choices were bad. They weren’t all white, blonde, and 100 pounds. There was a mixing of cultures and ethnicities which is something that hasn’t been reached in the past years.

Leave a Reply

