Revisiting Suicide Awareness Day

School and work are finally starting to slow down enough to let me breathe. Thanks to all of y’all who have said prayers and wished me luck. They’re all appreciated. I told y’all that I’ve had some things that I’ve wanted to write about, but I haven’t had time. Here’s the first one:

I wrote a post on September 10th about Suicide Awareness Day. The statistics were staggering to me at the time, but hit even harder now. At the time, I had never personally known anyone who had committed suicide. Now I can say that I have.

Depression is a very real disease that affects a lot of people’s lives. If you think you may have depression, talk to your doctor. Talk to a friend or family member. Talk to anyone.

Be the person available for someone to confide in. Listen to people. Be kind. Don’t put down people’s dreams. Everyone is going through something, and sometimes we don’t know how bad that something is. Make sure you’re building others up and not tearing them down.

4 thoughts on “Revisiting Suicide Awareness Day

  1. “If you think you may have depression, talk to your doctor. Talk to a friend or family member. Talk to anyone.”
    I hope you are finding someone to listen who is helping you deal with things you may not even realize yet that you’re going to experience. When someone you know commits suicide, it hits you on many levels.

    • It’s always more sad when it’s a teenager. I know that bullying has been rough on a lot of teens recently and has caused an increase in suicide (or at least its representation in the media).

Leave a Reply

