My IP Story

When I first found out about having to write our intellectual property story, I was a little confused. I couldn’t ever think of a time when I had contributed my intellectual property to anything, except for a poem I had published in middle school. And that’s just so lame, I couldn’t write about it. I couldn’t think of a way that intellectual property would affect my future career, or anything remotely on topic.  I was beginning to panic, and then the strangest thing happened.

I was sitting in my psychology class on Monday morning, taking notes and trying to pay attention, when I noticed that the girl who sits in front of me wasn’t taking notes on her laptop. Something familiar caught my eye – my blog background. At first I didn’t think anything of it. I’m sure it’s common as a Twitter background and on other WordPress blogs. However, I quickly realized that she was reading my blog. At first I was pleased with myself. I really didn’t think that anyone read it, outside of our class and the class from Oklahoma.

By this point, I’m no longer paying attention to my psychology lecture. I’m practically falling out of my chair trying to read over the girl’s shoulder. I wanted to know which post she was looking at. I’m squinting my eyes and leaning forward on the desk, not ashamed at all to look nosey. It was my post on “Living Like Weasels” from way back in August. I had noticed that a lot of people viewed this particular blog post, because it appears under “top searches” on my Dashboard. I was still feeling pleased with myself, knowing that someone was reading my work. Then she started to copy and paste, right into Microsoft Word. Oh no she didn’t.

Oh, but she did. I really didn’t know what to do. Tap her on the shoulder and say “Excuse me, miss, but that blog is licensed?” I didn’t think so. I just let it go, mainly because I didn’t know if I should be angry or flattered.  I wish I knew her name and who she has for English, though. Intellectual property affects everyone, even if you don’t think it does. I was having a hard time coming up with how intellectual property has anything at all to do with me, and I was handed an answer.

4 thoughts on “My IP Story

  1. W.o.w. That is crazy terrible. I admit I think I would have said something, although I am sure that would have created an enemy. That is so sad that someone would do that — but yes, flattering that she chose you!

Leave a Reply

