Copyright? Or just wrong?

We talked a lot about copyright last semester, but we’re tying everything back together in the spring and connecting it to the maps we’ve been working on for the past couple of weeks. We watched this video about copyright, which I actually liked a lot. It was hard to understand the first couple of times, but you catch onto it eventually. (It actually brought back a lot of childhood memories!)

The definition of copyright is: “the exclusive legal right, given to an originator or an assignee to print, publish, perform, film, or record literary, artistic, or musical material, and to authorize others to do the same.”

You can use another person’s intellectual property only if you’re using it to teach, for news reporting, for parody, or critical comment. But what if you want to use it for something other than these things? Well, the owner has copyright for their lifetime plus seventy years, which is a really really long time.

How do I feel about this? If I worked really hard on a work, I wouldn’t want people taking it and claiming it as theirs (interesting story about that, actually. It’s my #ipstory!) I also wouldn’t want people making money off of something that I created. On the other hand, that time span seems like a bit of a stretch to me. What are the odds you’re still making a profit after a hundred plus years? I think stealing someone else’s work is wrong, but I also feel that the limitations on copyright are too strict.

Leave a Reply

