Memory Palace

Whenever I come up with a mnemonic device to remember things, I use a phrase for the first letter of each word. Dashing King Phillip Came Over From Great Spain is how I remember the biological classifications, for example. They usually don’t make sense to anybody besides me, but that’s okay. The more illogical they seem, the more likely I am to remember.

We’ve been talking a lot about the appeals to rhetoric in English this year, beginning in the fall semester. Our assignment for this week was to come up with three images that help us remember ethos, logos and pathos – sort of like a mnemonic device.

Ethos

Ethos establishes the credibility of a writer. It depends a lot of the person’s morals and character. My mom always told me that your character is how you act when nobody else is looking. I associate this with the old cartoons where you have the angel on one shoulder, trying to convince you to do the right thing, and the devil on the shoulder, telling you that it really isn’t such a bad idea and it wouldn’t hurt anyone. With that mind frame, I chose this as my image for ethos.

Logos

Logos is the appeal to logic. A writer must not only be credible, but their argument must also make sense. It has to be orderly and rational. Whenever I think of using logic, puzzles and word games always come to mind. What better puzzle than a Rubik’s cube?

Pathos

Pathos is the emotional appeal. Emotion requires a connection. A writer has to be able to use their words to draw their audience in and make them feel the appropriate emotions. The heart is supposed to be the commander of the emotions, and it is often said to follow your heart. However, I didn’t feel that the heart was a fitting image to help me remember pathos; my heart is too closely linked to my morals. So I chose this image to show emotion.

One thought on “Memory Palace

Leave a Reply

