Beyond Black on White

For class this week we read “Beyond Black on White”, which is an article about web design and formatting. I learned many things from this article, and I can’t wait to start using them in my writing. I don’t usually incorporate pictures into my blog posts, unless we’re specifically told to do so. Teachers have always told me that it is unprofessional, but graphics can convey concepts that you can’t express in writing. If I’m writing about a map, why not add in a picture of a map? If you’re writing about a specific person, why not add a photograph? Visual aids keep your audience interested when you’re giving a speech, so wouldn’t the same idea apply in writing? However, I don’t want an image to distract from my writing. I guess I’ll have to play around with it until I find a good medium.

Leave a Reply

