Why wouldn’t you blog?

We read “Why Blog?” by Alex Reid at the very beginning of the fall semester and wrote about our thoughts on the article. I’m not surprised to find that my opinions haven’t drastically changed. Blogging is definitely a good way to develop yourself as a writer. My high school literature teacher used to tell me that I wrote good papers, but that I didn’t have a “voice”. I think that blogging is a good way to get out of your comfort zone and form your own unique approach to writing. However, I still haven’t gotten to the point that I could blog about things without them being assignments. My motivation for blogging is in the best interest of my GPA, even if I do enjoy doing it. I’m hoping that an idea will come to me, so that I can continue to blog even after this semester is over. I’m no closer to having something to blog about after the class is over than I was in August. I need a worthwhile topic.

You’re not going to get good at anything unless you practice. You can watch your professor work math problems for an hour, but if you never practice doing it then you’ll never learn. You can watch people play tennis, but that doesn’t mean you’ll be any good. Writing is the same way. You can read all you want, but that doesn’t necessarily mean you’ll be able to write. The only way to become an admirable writer is to practice.

A typical first year writing student writes 92 pages. I wish WordPress would give me the option to see how many pages I’ve written… or even how many words. I’m nowhere near close to 10,000 hours, but it would be interesting to know how far I’ve come.

4 thoughts on “Why wouldn’t you blog?

  1. I would like to know how many words I wrote, too. I had to do a manual count once when I got curious… and it was tedious to drag myself through all the pages as I had to hit “edit” in order to see the word count. I know you wrote a LOT in the fall. As I was looking for links to the poetic self-portraits for my blog today I thought: wow, they wrote so much. It was cool to scroll through and see the great work everyone had done.

  2. So it looks like many of us hope to keep this going after the semester… And I think, just to see how many words I write this semester, I’m going to start adding word counts at the bottom of my posts.

Leave a Reply

