Why did I chose to go to AUM?

I’ve heard people say that Auburn Montgomery is harder than Auburn, but I’ve also heard people degrade the education you get at a school that isn’t a major university like Auburn or Alabama. We talked about this as a class for a little while today, and we decided that for most careers it really doesn’t matter where you go to school to get your bachelor’s degree. The only thing that really counts is where you go to get your master’s.  This may or may not be true for some careers, but it is definitely true for mine. Nobody is ever going to care that I went to AUM for my first four years of college, because my bachelor’s degree doesn’t even matter. Anybody who is majoring in psychology can’t get a job without continuing their education and getting their master’s degree. So, I want to finish my first four years at AUM to get my psychology degree, with a double minor in criminal justice and criminology. Then I’m going to get my master’s in counseling, but I don’t know if I’m doing to do this at AUM or another university. I guess I’ll figure it out when the time comes. I’ll have to talk to possible employers to find out their preferences and qualifications, so that I can get a job doing what I want to do. Hopefully, I can get a job with the FBI here in Montgomery. The major offices in Alabama are in Mobile and Birmingham, so if I can’t stay in Montgomery, I won’t have to move far. I want to work with children who have been abused. I want to be a forensic interviewer. But if I can’t do that, I want to work with victims of human trafficking.

And my ten minutes are up. But now you know more about my goals and ambitions.

Leave a Reply

