“The Corner of the Eye” and Rhetorical Analysis – A Reflection.

“The Corner of the Eye” fascinated me, mostly because of the “small, faint stars” described by Lewis Thomas. He’s right, that gift is familiar to all children; looking at the stars in your vision is almost like watching the power lines and wondering how they all connect on long car rides, or cheering for the raindrops as the slide down the window during a summer shower.

The Writing Spaces essay I chose is “Backpacks vs. Briefcases: Steps toward Rhetorical Analysis” by Laura Bolin Carroll. This article is based on making observations about people and “judging a book by its cover.” Basically, the whole essay is about analyzing situations, drawing informed conclusions and becoming better at making accurate judgments about the people and situations we encounter.

When I was searching for a Writing Spaces article, I honestly typed about ten different words into the search bar to find one that I felt accurately related to “The Corner of the Eye.” I tried words like “perception” and “astonishment”. Finally, I gave up and typed in “observation”. The article by Carroll is what I chose, for many reasons. The first reason I chose this essay is because of what Thomas said about “the real meaning in music”. I’ve had to write rhetorical analyses of songs before, so it amused me when Thomas said that the meaning of music comes from “tones only audible in the corner of the mind.” Carroll, on the other hand, would same that the meaning of music comes from analyzing it using ethos, logos and pathos. After I really thought about it, however, I came up with a better reason for how the two articles connect. In Carroll’s article, he says you should “ask questions about the writer and the purpose of a document.” It made me wonder what Carroll would think about Thomas’ purpose of his essay. Would Carroll see the point that Thomas was trying to get across? Would Carroll see the importance of observation and paying attention to the small things around you?

One thought on ““The Corner of the Eye” and Rhetorical Analysis – A Reflection.

  1. Having read this I thought it was extremely enlightening.
    I appreciate you spending some time and energy to put
    this article together. I once again find myself spending
    way too much time both reading and commenting. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

