The “Who I Am” Story & “The danger of a single story” – A Reflection.

“Storytelling, Narration, and the Who I am Story” by Catherine Ramsdell

“The danger of a single story” by Chimamanda Adichie

Catherine Ramsdell put a new spin on storytelling in this passage. She is showing people that stories are more than just entertainment; they can be found everywhere, even in the corporate boardroom. Her example using Skip shows us that storytelling is beneficial even in the work environment. I never knew that storytelling could be considered professional. It never occurred to me how much storytelling is involved in journalism, advertising and even politics. I feel that I would have been a much better writer in high school if I had known how simple it really was. I wish I had read the “Who I am Story” earlier. Writing about yourself doesn’t have to be a complicated process. As Ramsdell said, it doesn’t require a recipe.

Storytelling can also remind us that “many things can be faked in life, but sincerity is generally not one of them.”  Chimamanda Adichie is an African writer and speaker. She was once told that her novel wasn’t “authentically African.” My question is this: how can something be authentically African? Or even authentically American for that matter? Every individual person is different. Not every American family has the perfect life, like the Cleavers or the Brady bunch. If an American wrote a novel about their life, then it’s their own “Who I am Story”. It’s nobody’s place to tell them that their work isn’t authentic. The “Who I am Story” is all about making your stories come to life.

Leave a Reply

